The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Sofala (Mozambique : Province)

LC control no.n 2007046905
Geographic headingSofala (Mozambique : Province)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Geographic subdivision usageMozambique--Sofala (Province)
Variant(s)Província de Sofala (Mozambique)
Beira (Mozambique : Province)
Beira (Mozambique : District)
Sofala Province (Mozambique)
See alsoManica e Sofala (Mozambique)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Found inGEOnet, July 3, 2007 (Sofala [short form], Província de--ADM1, 19°45ʹ53ʺS 34°55ʹ43ʺE, variants: Beira, Província de; Beira, Distrito da; MZ05; PPL Sofala also listed)
Statoids, July 3, 2007 (Provinces: Tete; July 19, 1942: charter of the Mozambique Company expired; its territory, known as Manica and Sofala, became a district of Mozambique; Jan. 1, 1943: Mozambique constituted as four districts: Manica and Sofala, Niassa, Sul do Save, and Zambezia; Oct. 20, 1954: Tete district split from Manica and Sofala; ca. 1978: status of divisions changed from districts to provinces; ca. 1978: Manica and Sofala district divided into Manica province and Sofala province; provinces are sometimes called by the names of their capitals)
Mozambique national mine survey, 1994- : v. 4, t.p. (Sofala Province)
Geographic area codef-mz---
Invalid LCCNn 90619420