The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Niger State (Nigeria)

LC control no.n 78006557
Descriptive conventionsrda
Geographic headingNiger State (Nigeria)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Geographic subdivision usageNigeria--Niger State
Variant(s)Niger, Nigeria (State)
See alsoNorth-Western State (Nigeria)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Found inSokoto, Nigeria (State). Sokoto/Niger states of Nigeria, Feb. 1976 (a.e.) t.p. (Sokoto/Niger states of Nigeria)
African yrbk. & who's who, 1977: p. 647 (In 1976 the Nigerian Supreme Military Council decreed that states will no longer be described by reference to geographic points, hence the North-Western State was divided into 2 states: Niger State, consisting of Niger Province, less Zuru [City] with the capital at Minna, and Sokoto State)
BGN (Niger [brief] State, 1st-order administrative division, 10°00ʹN, 6°00ʹE)
GeoNames, algorithmically matched, 2009 (adm1; 10°00ʹ00ʺN 006°00ʹ00ʺE)
Geographic area codef-nr---