The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Pulau Pinang (State)

LC control no.n 79081710
Descriptive conventionsrda
Geographic headingPulau Pinang (State)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Ko̜ Phrin ʻŌ̜p Wēn
Bin cheng
Negeri Pulau Pinang
Pulau Pinang (Malaya : State)
See alsoPulau Pinang (Malaysia : State)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Ending date19630915
Special noteSUBJECT USAGE: This heading is not valid for use as a subject. Works about this place are entered under Pulau Pinang (Malaysia : State).
Found inInfo. please alm., 1980, p. 219 (Malaysia came into existence on 9/16/63 as a federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sabah (North Borneo), and Sarawak; in 1965 Singapore withdrew from the federation)
Encycl. Brit., 1972 (Straits Settlements: originally the collective name of four trading emporia, Penang, Singapore, Malacca, and Labuan; Penang, Singapore, and Malacca were est. as the crown colony Straits Settlements in 1867, Labuan became part of the Singapore Settlement in 1907, and became a fourth, separate settlement in 1912; the Straits colony ceased to exist in 1946; Penang and Malacca were included in the Malayan Union (1946), the Federation of Malaya (1948), and Malaysia (1963))
Penang map, 1985? (Penang; the state is actually made up of two separate physical entities, one being Penang Island and the other Province Wellesley)
Col. Lipp. gaz., 1952: p. 1448 (Penang, NW Malaya in Strait of Malacca off Province Wellesley (separated by Penang Channel); capital George Town; formerly called Prince of Wales Isl., it was ceded in 1786 by Kedah)
Nanthā Wō̜ranētiwong. Phrayā Rātchakapitan (Fransit Lai) ... 1974: t.p. (Ko̜ Phrin ʻŌ̜p Wēn)
Web. geog. (Penang or Pulau Pinang. A state of Malaysia, on the Malay Penin.)
Bin cheng ke jia liang bai nian, 1998: t.p. (Bin cheng; Binlangyu)
Penang state tourism offical website, viewed May 12, 2014 ("Malaya gained independence in August 31, 1957 and Penang was one of its 13 component states. Penang was officially known as Negeri Pulau Pinang.")
Geographic area codea-my---