The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Azerbaijan S.S.R

LC control no.n 80089802
Descriptive conventionsrda
Geographic headingAzerbaijan S.S.R.
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Variant(s)Azerbaijan (Soviet Republic)
Azerbaidzhanian Soviet Socialist Republic
Aserbaidshanische Sozialistische Sowjetrepublik
Azerbaĭdzhanskai︠a︡ SSR
Azerbaydzhanskaya SSR
Azerbaydzhan Soviet Socialist Republic
Azerbaydzhan S.S.R.
Azerbaydzhanskaya Sovetskaya Sotsialisticheskaya Respublika
Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic
Azerbaijan SSR
Azerbaĭdzhanskai︠a︡ S.S.R.
Azerbaydzhan SSR
Azerbaydzhanskaya S.S.R.
Aserbaidz̆aani NSV
See alsoZakavkazskai︠a︡ Sot︠s︡ialisticheskai︠a︡ Federativnai︠a︡ Sovetskai︠a︡ Respublika
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Other standard no.140653300
Beginning date1936
Ending date1991
Associated countrySoviet Union
Special noteDESCRIPTIVE USAGE: Name heading for the government before 1992. Use "Azerbaijan" as qualifier for places within the country.
SUBJECT USAGE: This heading is not valid for use as a subject. Works about this place are entered under Azerbaijan.
Old catalog heading: Azerbaijan
Found inBol. sov. ėnt︠s︡., 3rd ed.: v. 9, page 297 (3/12/22 a conference of representatives from the T︠S︡IK Azerb. SSR, T︠S︡IK Arm. SSR, and T︠S︡IK Gruz. SSR created the Federativnyĭ Soi︠u︡z Sot︠s︡. Sov. Respublik Zakavkazʹi︠a︡ [no publs. in LC], which was reorganized 12/13/22 into Zakavkazskui︠u︡ Sot︠s︡ialistich. Federativnui︠u︡ Sov. Respubliku; it was dissolved in 1936 when Azerbaĭdzhan, Armenii︠a︡ and Gruzii︠a︡ became separate republics)
Aserbaidz̆aani NSV, 1985.
BGN. Foreign names info. bull., Feb. 1992, surrogate: page 1 (former name: Azerbaydzhanskaya Sovetskaya Sotsialisticheskaya Respublika [Russian]; Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic [conventional]: ADM1; new name: Azerbaijan [brief], Republic of: PCL1, 40°30ʹN, 47°30ʹE)
Baranowski, B. Historia Azerbejdżanu, 1987: title page (Azerbejdżanu)
BGN per phone, 12-31-91 (Azerbaydzhanskaya Sovetskaya Sotsialisticheskaya Respublika changed its name to Azerbaijan; approved by FNC)
Britannica online, November 13, 2020: Azerbaijan (Azerbaijan was an independent nation from 1918 to 1920 but was then incorporated into the Soviet Union. It became a constituent (union) republic in 1936. Azerbaijan declared sovereignty on September 23, 1989, and independence on August 30, 1991) Soviet Union (Following the 1917 Revolution, four socialist republics were established on the territory of the former empire: the Russian and Transcaucasian Soviet Federated Socialist Republics and the Ukrainian and Belorussian Soviet Socialist Republics. On December 30, 1922, these constituent republics established the U.S.S.R. Additional union republics (Soviet Socialist Republics) were set up in subsequent years: the Turkmen and Uzbek S.S.R.'s in 1924, the Tadzhik S.S.R. in 1929, and the Kazakh and Kirgiz S.S.R.'s in 1936. In that year the Transcaucasian Republic was abolished and its territory was divided between three new republics: the Armenian, Azerbaijan, and Georgian S.S.R.'s)
Geographic area codea-aj---