The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Vermont. Supreme Court

LC control no.n 82129353
Descriptive conventionsrda
Corporate name headingVermont. Supreme Court
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Variant(s)Vermont. Supreme Court of Judicature
Beginning date1782
Found inDean, C.B. The trial of Cyrus B. Dean, for the murder of Jonathan Ormsby and Asa Marsh, before the Supreme Court of Judicature of the state of Vermont ... 1808: p. 35 (Supreme Court)
LC manual cat. (hdg.: Vermont. Supreme Court; usage: Supreme Court, Supreme Court of Judicature)
Phone call to Vermont State Archives and Records Admin., May 7, 2014 (before the merger of the court into one body, the court would meet in separate counties to perform their functions, e.g., Caledonia County Supreme Court; do not establish at the county level)
Vermont Judiciary website, May 7, 2014 (In 1777, the first Vermont Constitution provided that "courts of justice shall be established in every county in this state." At its first session in 1778, the General Assembly created special temporary courts to hear cases until a Superior Court was established at a later legislative session that same year. In 1782, the Vermont court system was reorganized. Courts in each county were established with one Chief Judge and four or five Assistant Judges elected by county voters. The Superior Court was abolished, and the Supreme Court was created. The five judges of the Supreme Court were elected annually by ballot of the Legislature. Supreme Court Judges met once in each county during the year. Although the Supreme Court and the county courts heard many of the same types of cases, cases tried in the county courts could be appealed to the Supreme Court. The Vermont court system was reorganized again in 1825. Although voters in each county continued to elect two Assistant Judges, the Supreme Court Judges became the presiding judges in county courts. Each Supreme Court Judge traveled to various counties during the year to hear cases. In addition to their individual duties in county courts, the Supreme Court Judges continued to serve as the Vermont Supreme Court when all the Judges sat together for Supreme Court terms. Supreme Court Judges were required to preside in county courts until 1906. In 1906, the General Assembly increased the number of judges and separated their functions. The Supreme Court consisted of four judges. Terms were held in Montpelier, so that Supreme Court Judges no longer had to travel to the county courts. In 1908, the size of the Supreme Court was set at five judges and has remained the same since then. In keeping with modern practice, the judges of Vermont's highest court are now called justices)