The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Azad Kashmir (Pakistan)

LC control no.n 84172443
Geographic headingAzad Kashmir (Pakistan)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Geographic subdivision usagePakistan--Azad Kashmir
Variant(s)Azad Jammu and Kashmir (Pakistan)
Azad Jammu & Kashmir (Pakistan)
Āzād Ḥukūmat Riyāsat-i Jammun̲ o Kashmīr (Pakistan)
AJK Province (Pakistan)
Azad State of Jamu and Kashmir (Pakistan)
Found in1980 development statistics, Azad Jammu and Kashmir pocket book, 1983?: cover (Azad Jammu and Kashmir)
Phone call to BGN, 10/10/84 (Azad Kashmir; 1st order administrative div.; 34°22ʹN; 73°28ʹE; Pakistan control portion of Jammu & Kashmir and associated area)
Pol. hdbk. of World, 1982/83: p. 372 (Azad Kashmir. Formally styled Azad ("Free") Jammu and Kashmir ... administered by Pakistan ... Governed on the basis of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Interim Constitution Act of 1974)
Its Gazette of Azad Jammu & Kashmir, 31st Jan. 1981: t.p. (Azad Jammu & Kashmir)
Council of Islamic Ideology (Azad Kashmir). Islāmī Naẓariyātī Kaunsil kī ... riporṭ, 1978 tā 1981: t.p. (Āzād Ḥukūmat Riyāsat-i Jammun̲ o Kashmīr)
GeoNames, algorithmically matched, 2009 (adm1; 34°22ʹ25ʺN 073°28ʹ14ʺE)
Pakistan, health cluster PFERP 2010 projects in AJK Province, 2010 map recto (AJK Province)
Britannica online, viewed July 6, 2012 (Azad Kashmir, area of the Pakistani-administered sector of the Kashmir region, in the northwestern part of the Indian subcontinent. Azad ("Free") Kashmir, established in 1947 after the partition of India, is neither a province nor an agency of Pakistan but has a government of its own that is regarded by Pakistan as "independent," even though it is protected by and economically and administratively linked to Pakistan)
U.S. State Dept. website, viewed July 25, 2012 under Pakistan, background, government ("Political subdivisions: 4 provinces (Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (formerly known as the North-West Frontier Province or NWFP)); also the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (composed of 7 tribal agencies--Bajaur, Mohmand, Khyber, Kurram, Orakzai, North Waziristan, and South Waziristan) and the Pakistani-administered portion of the disputed Jammu and Kashmir region (Azad Kashmir and the Northern Areas)")
Email from BGN, July 25, 2012 (Azad Kashmir, Gilgit-Baltistan, Federally Administered Tribal Areas, Islāmābād Capital Territory, and the four Pakistani provinces are designated as administrative divisions of Pakistan)
GEOnet, viewed Aug. 3, 2012 (Azad Kashmir [approved form]; ADMD, 33°56ʹ50ʺN 073°54ʹ37ʺE; variants: Azad Jammu and Kashmir; Azad State of Jamu and Kashmir)
Geographic area codea-pk---