The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies | VIAF (Virtual International Authority File)External Link

Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡ (R.S.F.S.R.)

LC control no.n 85192875
Descriptive conventionsrda
Geographic headingSmolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡ (R.S.F.S.R.)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Geographic subdivision usageRussia (Federation)--Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡ (R.S.F.S.R.)
Variant(s)Смоленская губерния (R.S.F.S.R.)
See alsoZapadnai︠a︡ oblastʹ (R.S.F.S.R.)
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Beginning date1796-12-23
Ending date1929-01-01
Special noteNon-Latin script reference not evaluated.
Found inMaterīaly o rasprostrannenīi sifilisa i venericheskikh zaboli︠e︡vanīĭ v Smolenskoĭ gubernīi [MI] 1896.
Bolʹshai︠a︡ sovetskai︠a︡ ėnt︠s︡iklopedii︠a︡, v. 51, 1945: col. 477 (Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡. In 1937 Smolenskai︠a︡ oblastʹ was formed. It chiefly consists of territory formerly in Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡)
Bolʹshai︠a︡ rossiĭskai︠a︡ ėnt︠s︡iklopedii︠a︡, via WWW, June 3rd, 2020: (Смоленская губерния = Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡, established in 1708, was comprised of 17 uezdy, abolished in 1713, reinstated in 1726 with 5 uezdy; renamed to Smolenskoe namestnichestvo in 1775 with 12 uezdy; re-established by the decree of Paul I from December 23, 1796, since that time territorial borders stayed the same until 1917; after 1917 some gubernia's uezdy either became part of other administrative divisions or abolished, and some uezdy from other gubernias were incorporated into Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡; Smolenskai︠a︡ gubernii︠a︡ abolished on January 1st, 1929; together with Bri︠a︡nskai︠a︡ gubernia and parts of Kaluzhskai︠a︡, Tverskai︠a︡ and Moskovskai︠a︡ gubernias formed Zapadnai︠a︡ oblastʹ)