The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies


LC control 85102653
LC classificationQB600 QB705 Descriptive astronomy
Topical headingPlanets
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
See alsoSolar system
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Found inIAU Web site, Nov. 8, 2006 ("IAU [International Astronomical Union] members gathered at the 2006 General Assembly agreed that a planet is defined as a celestial body that (a) is in orbit around the Sun, (b) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape, and (c) has cleared the neighbourhood around its orbit. That means that the Solar System consists of eight planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. A new distinct class of objects called dwarf planets was also decided. It was agreed that planets and dwarf planets are two distinct classes of objects. The first members of the dwarf planet category are Ceres, Pluto and 2003 UB313 (temporary name).")