The Library of Congress > LCCN Permalink

View this record in:  MARCXML | LC Authorities & Vocabularies

World Heritage areas

LC control 98000794
Topical headingWorld Heritage areas
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities  or the  LC Catalog
Variant(s)World Heritage sites
See alsoCultural property
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Historic sites
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Natural areas
    Browse this term in  LC Authorities
Found inWork cat.: 97-215262: Australia. Parliament. House of Representatives. Standing Committee on Environment, Recreation, and the Arts. Managing Australia's world heritage, c1996: p. iii (World Heritage areas) p. 1 (World heritage is a term applied to sites of outstanding universal cultural or natural significance which are included on the World Heritage List. As of December 1995 there were 469 properties on the World Heritage List, including 350 cultural sites, 102 natural sites and 17 mixed sites ... The Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage (the World Heritage Convention) was adopted by the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) in 1972 ... In order to qualify for inclusion on the World Heritage List, a nominated area must meet specific criteria which are contained in the Convention.)
AltaVista, Feb. 12, 1998 (Australian World Heritage Areas - Implications of World Heritage Listing; Duplantier: World Heritage Areas - Aug. 8, 1996; Australian World Heritage Areas, Kakadu National Park; World Heritage Areas (UN))
LC database, Feb. 12, 1998 (World Heritage Convention; World Heritage Towns, World heritage sites, Natural World Heritage Sites, World Heritage areas)
UN list of nat'l parks: p. 259 (World Heritage Sites)